Adopted Orchids

AdoptedOrchid

A friend had a bunch of orchids in her house. When the blooms died she didn’t want to throw them away, but didn’t have the right conditions to get them to bloom again so she offered them to me. I took them home and I’m afraid I was not very kind to them initially. I put them out in the atrium and left them. It was a big change in environment and some of them got sunburned leaves. However, most of them managed to survive. I recently noticed, to my surprise, that there were bloom spikes on a couple of them. I’ve only had my orchids bloom in winter before, when the weather is somewhat cooler and damper. At least I don’t feel like quite such a fraud now.

The friend also came up with the idea that I should babysit people’s orchids and give them when they were blooming. Um, no. No market for it, no money in it and in no way do I want to do that. That’s doing all the work and missing all of the fun.

Leave a Reply

