Orange County Cactus and Succulent Society Spring Sale

CactusSale_1

I went to the this weekend. It was the only thing I did this weekend. I’ve had the Cold from Hell for the last week or so and have felt like doing exactly nothing. But I’ve been waiting for months for the sale and I wasn’t going to let anything make me miss it.

Found this red echevaria morph. I saw someone with one and someone else was asking where they’d got it. I went right away and picked one up. I’m glad I did. The color is just gorgeous.

20170326 red echevaria

I didn’t spend nearly as much as I have in the past. I didn’t buy any plants that were on my “I’ve killed one of those before” list. I’ve decided that it really isn’t very productive to spend money on a plant that I know isn’t happy with the conditions in my yard. Instead I’ve been focusing on my plan for the front yard. I’ve found a garden designer who’s work I really like and I’m trying my hand at it in my front yard. It’s going to take a while to see results I can’t afford to buy big bunches of plants to make the massings I so love in his work so I’m starting small and letting the plants grow. I’ll take cuttings and offsets when I can and build the garden that way. Slow, but satisfying.

Leave a Reply

