Time running away

Lately I’ve been feeling like time isn’t just passing, it’s running away from me. And I’m wasting far too much of it while I’ve got it. The truth is, I love video games. And I spend too much time playing them. And I have so much other stuff to do. So I’m trying to cut back. I’m not a leap out of bed first thing in the morning person, so a lot of the time I sit in bed and play on my iPad for a while before getting up. It would be more productive if I got out of bed, got ready for work and maybe posted some items on Etsy instead.

This morning I did. I got out of bed instead of playing games. Got dressed, made my lunch, did a quick run around with the vacuum (love the cordless vac) and renewed a posting on Etsy. If that’s an example of what I could have been accomplishing, I feel pretty silly. Now I’ll try it when I get home from work. Most of the time I have lunch and start playing on the computer. Instead I’m going to finish my chores before I get on the computer. Then at least I’ll feel like I accomplished something.

I’m also somewhat vertically challenged and a lot of my clothes need modification before they fit. I do a lot of hemming. I should do that in the evening while watching television. There is seldom anything on television that is so important that it demands my absolute attention. I have been doing that for the past couple of weeks and have finished three hemming/repair jobs. I’ve been know to let pants sit around for months before I hem them. I’d rather not wait until they no longer fit.

I just feel like time is going by so fast and there’s so much I want to accomplish. I have to figure out how to use the time I have more efficiently. I don’t want to be obsessive about it, just use it a bit more productively.

Leave a Reply

