Climbing

So I changed jobs and moved to a different building. This building is four floors taller than the old one. Just before Christmas I started doing the stairs in this building. I’m working longer hours and have less time to get my jewelry stuff done at home. I figured if I got my workout done during lunch that would be one thing that I wouldn’t have to do at home. So I bring stuff I can eat at my desk and do the stairs during my lunch hour. It’s had the benefit of having a specific time to exercise and being easily quantified. I’ve kept up every day since I started and I’ve been pushing myself to work a little harder every day.

Yesterday I think I worked a little too hard. One ankle was really sore and I was really stiff last night. I was going to skip working out today altogether but I was reading an article a woman wrote about doing push ups every day and she said that you don’t skip. You just do it as low key as you need. In the beginning I just went down the stairs. Then I went down a floor than up one flight (each floor being two flights of stairs). This week it’s been down two floors and up one, starting at the roof. Until today when I went back to down one floor and up one flight; taking it easy all the way. And it was easy. I wasn’t out of breath when I got to the bottom.

I haven’t worked out this regularly in ages. I’ve been trying to figure out why. I think the biggest part is that I have a set time.  Also, I don’t have to do anything. I don’t change clothes. I never wear heels, so I don’t have to change shoes. Should we have a zombie apocalypse, or any other widespread calamity, I should be in good shape. Now if I could just get rid of my fast food habit, I’ll have it made. I keep telling myself that if I’m working this hard at working out I shouldn’t mess it up with poor food choices.

 

Leave a Reply

