Chilly

Been a little bit chilly lately, 40’s at night, low 60’s during the day. Yeah, I know, I’m lucky, no snow to wrestle with, not even any frost to nip at my plants. I think I’ve seen frost on the roof once in the last 20 years. When I was a kid we’d get frost as early as October. You can’t tell me that millions of square miles of asphalt doesn’t affect the climate. I’ve watched it happen.

Back to chilly. I’m not happy with the temperature and neither is my cat. My poor skinny cat looks for heat where ever she can find it. While friendly and affectionate, she is not usually a lap cat. If she’s feeling very affectionate, she’ll stand on my lap and lean on me for up to 30 seconds. I use a heated throw blanket at night when we’re watching stuff on the computer so now I have a lap cat. She comes into the office and stares at me until I pick her up and put her on the blanket on my lap, and then she melts into a puddle of warm, contented kitty. It’s as relaxed as I’ve ever seen her. She even let me pick her up, blanket and all, and put her on the floor when my legs started going to sleep. I’ve ordered heated mats for both cats, but they have a really long shipping time, so until they arrive, electric blanket it is. I don’t mind the company.

20161210_221106.jpg

Leave a Reply

