2016 Labor Day weekend

Had a good Labor Day weekend. Now I need a day off. Friday on the way home I went and bought three bags of cocoa mulch, mulch made from the shells of cocoa seeds for the uninitiated, and some new plants, of course and proceeded to spend a large portion of my weekend pulling weeds, pruning and spreading mulch. All of this made me very happy. It also made me very tired. But at least I feel like I accomplished something. And I did get to spend a lot more time outside than on my usual weekend.

I started with the atrium. I’d take a bucket of mulch in and spread it around and take a bucket of dead leaves, clippings and weeds out. That worked so well there I did it with the rest of the yard, too. For once I could actually see a difference from before to after. Often you really can’t tell where I’ve been working. I think next I’ll go in and lift the stepping stones up out of the baby tears and wash them off. Many have settled into the dirt.

20160905_153809.jpg

In addition to manual labor, I got to commune a little with the lizards and the butterflies. This little one has been caught by and rescued from the cats more than once.

Leave a Reply

