What are you doing for Christmas (or whatever is your thing)

For a while after my Dad died, it seemed like Mom was hanging on to the old family traditions, tooth and nail. I think things had fallen apart for her and she was holding on to any semblance of normalcy that she could find.

This year, for the first time, she wants to do something different. Not major league different. Just not turkey. And I’m delighted. We’re having roast of prime rib. Most everything else will be the same. The family will gathered. That’s all that really matters. Don’t get me wrong, I love turkey, but I really think it’s cool that Mom is breaking out and trying something new. It’s nice to see her enjoying planning things.

I’m actually looking forward to the candy making tomorrow, mostly because I have planned and prepared in advance, picked easy things to make and won’t have to worry about much tomorrow. Did you know you could make peanut brittle in the microwave? I do now!

Leave a Reply

