Inspiration

It amazes me how little it takes to inspire someone (me.) One boxed birthday cake that turned out acceptable and all of a sudden I want to be Cake Boss. I’ve never been the baker in the family, youngest sister has filled that role. Making goodies at Christmas, etc. I have one successful cake and all of a sudden I’m feeling experimental, looking up recipes on-line. I think I’m actually going to make two batches of fudge in two days.

My main concern with this is my waistline, but a recent step on the scale told me things are stable, so I’m going to indulge myself. With reason. At least that’s what I’m going to tell myself. I want to experiment, but I have to spread it out a little. Neither of us really need all that sugar.

That said, microwave fudge is on of the best things ever. All you need is a microwave, a can of sweetened condensed milk, a little vanilla and some chocolate chips. Melt, stir, pour, fudge! I made some a long time ago with marshmallow creme and I thought that was easy. Compared to this one, it has twice as many ingredients, marshmallow cream, sugar, butter, cocoa powder, chocolate chips and vanilla, and requires measuring and mixing and boiling. We got a jar of the marshmallow cream, now I have to find some other use for it, because I’m never going to use that recipe.

I’m also intrigued byPink Lemonade Cake recipe and want to try that. All of this because of one birthday cake that didn’t turn out a disaster.

Leave a Reply

