Birthday dinner

Wonderful Spouse asked if I wanted to go out to dinner yesterday morning. Yes, please! We went to Cedar Creek. I had a lemon drop martini, which is just alcoholic candy. My taste in drinks is juvenile. Then I ordered pot roast, which I ate about half of. Ate all of my dessert, though. Maple crème brulee. Going to have the rest of dinner for lunch today. Minus the braised cabbage. Bleh. There may be some way you can make cooked cabbage edible, but I haven’t run into it yet. Mostly just don’t cook it.

It was weird, but almost everything I had had apples in it somewhere. I had the house salad, with candied walnuts, bleu cheese (also bleh) and apples in a balsamic vinaigrette. With the dinner came applesauce, with the apples cut just about the same way they were in the salad. The braised purple cabbage also had apples in it, cut in the same fashion. I don’t know whether to think they’re cheap, putting apples in everything, or pragmatic to use what’s available and make it work in multiple dishes. I don’t know anything about the restaurant business, and hope never to have to. Food service is way too much work.

Then went home and collapsed. That’s what happens when you stay up until two in the morning the day before.

Leave a Reply

