Maroon orchids

I always look through the orchids at Trader Joe’s when I go there. They’re generally the usual pink and white Phalenopsis, but every once in a while I find an unusual one and it goes home with me. This one fit the bill. I’ve never seen an orchid in a maroon that dark.

MaroonOrchid20150107

It has been doing fine in the kitchen window sill, so I’ve left it there. It’s the beneficiary of our idiot refrigerator. Almost every time you get ice out of the dispenser, a couple of minutes later it spits an ice cube onto the floor. It used to be comical and annoying. Now I just pick up the ice cube and put it in the orchid pot. It’s still comical and annoying, but at least I have something to do with the ice cube besides toss it in the sink.

Leave a Reply

