How I spent my summer vacation

So I went on vacation, leaving on 6/24 and returning on 7/3. I drove with my Mom and her caregiver up to Oregon. Rental houses up there are a lot more affordable than those in California. On the first night of the drive my throat felt a little scratchy. The second night was worse and by the time we got to the house I was in the grip of the nastiest cold I’ve had in years. The only thing I’m grateful for is the fact that I didn’t have to go to work. I did have a very nice view and a bathroom that was bigger than my kitchen at home, but I would have traded it all just to be sick in my own bed.

I did get up a few times. Went out to walk the beach a couple of times and went shopping once and out to eat a couple of times, but I regretted it every time. I always felt worse after trying to get some vacation out of my vacation.

I did take a few pictures, but only with my phone, mostly from the patio outside my door. I never even took the trouble to get the good camera out of the bag. Mostly I just stayed in my room, self quarantine. I didn’t think anyone else needed to get sick.

This is the view from my door:

20150627 Beach day 3a

It’s three weeks now since I got the stupid cold and I’m still coughing, have one plugged up ear and the energy level of a banana peel. I’ve done nothing around the house, and I have about 4 home projects that are stalled until I get them going again.

Leave a Reply

