Ups and Downs

Made a big mistake this year. Got chickens. I like the chickens themselves, but the stuff they do has brought me to tears more than once. They ate my garden down to nubs and kicked dirt out of the planters and onto the cement endlessly. I eventually netted nearly all the planters to keep them out. But they still occasionally get in and wreak havoc. I think that the Spouse and I have come up with a method that will be more secure and less dangerous. The bird netting I’m using now catches on everything, shoes especially. But the garden has had a hard time of it this year and I sort of cringe every time I go out there.

On other hand, when I walk around outside I feel like the Pied Piper. I have a following. And we’re having an egg dinner once or twice a week. It’s amazing how many eggs you end up with when you’re getting two or three per day.

One thing that I’ve done that I’m really happy about is add more garden blogs to my reading list. Not only have I found a bunch of wonderful new blogs to read, I’ve gotten a ton of inspiration and information about organizations and events. I joined the Orange County Cactus and Succulent Society and attended their plant sale. It’s been a lot of fun.

Finished a wedding ring this week and sent it off. It’s one of those most thrilling things for me as an artist to have someone pick your work for something that important. I hadn’t made an ACS ring in quite some time and I was anxious that it turn out well. The last time I made one there was a kiln available to me at Brea Bead Works. They’ve since had to down size and I don’t think they have it anymore. But I used several fire bricks to reflect heat and it torched beautifully. I’m very happy with the way it turned out.

One thought on “Ups and Downs

  1. There is NOTHING better than fresh eggs, and for this reason I have been on the fence about getting chickens myself. Thank you for shining a light on the other side of owning chickens – I don’t know if I could handle all of the mini-havoc they could cause!

Leave a Reply

