Captive garden

I’ve started thinking of my garden as the ‘captive garden.’ Trapped behind bird netting to keep it safe from the chickens, it’s starting to recover a bit. Just shows you how dangerous ignorance can be. They ate almost everything. They don’t like the russian sage, gaillardia or salvias, so they’re all right, but everything else they ate down to the dirt. So I’ve spent the last few weeks trying to come up with a system that will keep the chickens out and let the plants continue to grow. So far that’s bird netting. I’d like to get something a little less maddening; the netting catches on everything, buttons, rings, necklaces, plants, bricks. Everything. I’d like something a little easier to work with.

Right now I’m just happy to have something that works. To no longer spend half my time sweeping up the dirt they’ve scratched out of the planters. To have plants with leaves on them. I’ve put more than half the pots on the patio under the netting and while I was at it, made sure that I could see my favorites from my chair. I’m hoping that will motivate me to make sure to water them. I haven’t hooked most of them up to the drip system yet and it will probably be a while before I do. I still have a couple of things I need to move, then I’ll start assessing irrigation needs. Have to make sure that the plants are safe from the velocichickens, then worry about watering.

Leave a Reply

