Mid-century Modern – I don’t like it

I don’t like it. I really don’t like it. The way decorating has been going for a while now, I appear to be the only one in the world who doesn’t like it. It’s flippin’ everywhere. Furniture is mid-century modern, accessories are mid-century modern,graphics are mid-century modern, houses are mid-century modern.

People say they like the clean lines and uncluttered designs. I don’t believe them. I think most of them are just nostalgic for a time that seems better and more uncomplicated than theirs. Well, I’ll give them more uncomplicated. No computers or cell phones. No Facebook or LinkedIn.

But design, not so much. To me mid-century modern represents the extinction of craftsman and the rise of machine made everything. The lines are simple because it’s easier to machine it that way. The driving force was economic, not design.

I like to see the imperfections and variations that are the mark of human hands. Something not made by a machine on an assembly line, but by a person. That’s what mid-century modern lacks.

Leave a Reply

