Chicken update 9/17/14

The chickens have now put themselves to bed every day for almost a week. We make a ramp out of an adirondack footstool and a storage box and they work their way up the ramp and into the box when it gets dark. Beats the heck out of chasing them around the yard.

Flies have been kind of a problem, so I ordered a couple of fly traps and some fly trap bait. I filled one of them and hung it this morning. I’m curious to see how well they work. When the bait gets here I’ll make traps out of empty soda bottles and throw them away after I’m done with them. I sure hope this stuff works. It’s been so hot that going outside is extremely unpleasant. I need to get outside in the morning and sweep. I just can’t bring myself to work outside when it’s 104 degrees out.

I tried srouting some wheat seeds for them, which I won’t be doing again. I could see doing someplace that has a real winter, but the girls just pulled of the grass part and ate the seeds. Not worth the effort. And the grain starts to ferment and doesn’t smell all that great.

I’ve been letting them out when I get home. It’s so hot I want to give them the opportunity to find the coolest place in the yard. Yesterday I let them out and when I came outside they were all piled up on a patch of dirt in the planter.

Leave a Reply

