Post Christmas Activity

It’s dry. My lips are chapped and the Santa Ana winds are blowing. My cat, the Wonderful Spouse and I were all sick over Christmas. A horrible cold that lingers on and makes me feel wavery and stupid even now. And now that Christmas has passed, everyone seems to be struck with cleaning out for the new year. The Spouse started last night, getting rid of clothing he no longer wears. He’s decided to get rid of 2 t-shirts for every one he gets. I’m with him on that. I’ve had the same project in mind over the last few days, but while the spirit is willing, the flesh is feeling a bit under the weather at the moment. I’ll start a drawer at a time as soon as I feel more energetic.

I started my New Year’s resolutions early this year. Bought a FitBit several months ago and have been wearing it, but haven’t really been paying attention to what’s been going on. A few weeks ago someone said something about it being almost the end of the year. It made me think about resolutions, so I made some. I figure if you think about them, that’s a good time to make them. It’s the first year I haven’t resolved to lose weight, although I do hope that will be a side effect of one of my resolutions. I have my average steps per day over several months and I’ve decided to up them by a thousand steps per month until I reach my goal amount. Ten thousand per day is my current end goal. That may change depending on how things go. So I’ve started increasing my activity, trying to keep it at a thousand steps above what it was before. Not really been possible while I’ve been sick, but we’ll see how much I can make up for my several days doing an imitation of a log.

Was really worried about my poor cat. I noticed she was a little lethargic one day and the next the Spouse said she wasn’t eating. She’s thin already so it really worried me. A couple of days of little fluid could be very serious for her. She’s normally very interested in food and when I tried a little of the fish we had for dinner she just sighed a looked away. I was able to get her to drink a little just by holding a glass of water up to her and the next day she seemed better and the day after that she was almost her normal self. Thank goodness it was short-lived. She still has some weight to gain back, but I’m working on that.

Leave a Reply

