The New Deal (that I’ve made with myself)

The Wonderful Spouse decided a month ago that he was going to lose some weight. He’s been very successful so far. One of his strategies is to take a break from taming wild computers and get up and walk a couple of times during the day. It makes total sense. Rev up your metabolism more than once a day. It’s bound to help in any effort to use more calories than you take in. I thought that I would try it, too.

The problem is, it’s really hard to motivate myself to walk on the treadmill more than once a day. Kind of makes you feel hamsterish, if you know what I mean. So I made a deal with myself. Instead of spending a half hour on the treadmill, I would spend a half hour doing, brace yourself, housework. I hate housework. I’m a lousy housekeeper. But the thought of doing housework sounds infinitely better than spending more time on the treadmill. And it has other benefits, too. Like a cleaner house. With me and four cats, the house is never going to be clean, but cleaner isn’t bad. Beats messier at least. And cleaning is not sitting in front of a computer, playing games, or sitting and making jewelry or messing around on the internet. So I’ll see if I can keep this up. I still hate housework.

Leave a Reply

