Adventures in baking

I’ve been experimenting with baking bread for a while now. I started with a couple of boxes of mix and have graduated to actually making it from a recipe. I’ve only made a few, the hardest part being to just follow the recipe. I don’t feel like I have a good enough grasp on the process to start messing with it.

Nothing I’ve made so far has been a disaster; each has been at least edible. My latest attempt was Honey Oatmeal Bread. This is the tastiest bread I’ve made so far. The texture was the only thing that may have lacked a little. Not sure if that’s because of the recipe or if I just didn’t knead it enough. I did it as long as it says, but as I do it by hand and it called for 20 minutes of kneading, I didn’t do any more than called for.

It’s still quite tasty. Definitely my favorite of what I’ve made. It also actually looked like what you see watching a cooking show while I was making it, which was encouraging.

I’ve been using the flour we have on hand. We’ve always had flour on hand, but it was mostly used for breading fish and cookies once a year. I’m anxious to start using the whole wheat flour the Wonderful Spouse got for me. Try a multigrain next time maybe.

On a side note, the WordPress spellchecker does not recognize the word ‘knead.’

Leave a Reply

