New bee behavior

Saw something new this weekend while we were on the patio.

We have Passionfruit vines all over the patio. There is one right next to my chair outside. It gave me the opportunity to see something I had never seen before.

The passionfruit vine exudes a sweet fluid from the leaves which attracts ant who in turn eat the plants parasites. This weekend I saw a bee drinking the fluid. It went from leaf to leaf drinking the little droplets of sugar-water. I saw a bee come to drink several times and twice again the next day. Haven’t been fast enough to photograph it yet. I wonder if it’s just one bee or are there more?

Leave a Reply

