It doesn’t take much

So I’ve been practicing things for The Farm.

I figure if we’re living someplace relatively remote it might not be all that easy to run to the store for things. It might be a good idea to be able to make as many of the day-to-day necessities as possible. Bread was one of the things that came to mind. And cookies. I don’t eat that many, but if I want cookies bad enough to make them, I want them enough to have them.

I’ve never been much of a baker. And I never really thought about why. I’ve always said that it was too much like science for me. Which is pretty stupid because I like science.

I do remember when I finally did get around to cooking, someplace in my 20’s, I invited my parents over for dinner. I made Kung Pao chicken, which turned out fine and strawberry shortcake, which didn’t. I’m not sure what I didn’t wrong, double the baking powder or used baking soda instead of baking powder. Either way the shortcake came out awful and we just had the strawberries. Not a total disaster, but not a rousing success either.

I don’t think I’ve baked much of anything since then, outside of birthday cakes from a mix. I didn’t to repeat my failure. It really doesn’t take much to discourage you in some endeavors.

Leave a Reply

