Despair

I like to think I’m an optimist. I have looked for the good in a situation. Though some days are bad I can still see the beauty of a sunset.

Though there have been so many bad days over the last year, I still get to come home to a warm embrace.

I think that has made me see more clearly what my Mom has lost.

When we were in the emergency department she asked me what she should do with the rest of her life. I didn’t have an answer for her; I still don’t. Or maybe I do. Be with us. Tell us your stories.

The only thing I regret about my parents is that I don’t know them as well as I wanted to. I’d hoped in our travels with my Dad that he would say more about himself. He never did, until I went with them to a medical procedure. Then he revealed something.

When he was in the army he went AWOL to meet a girl to marry her. When he got to her, she didn’t want to marry him. Somehow he got back to base and went on to Korea. He never said anything to anyone, not even Mom. Until that day at the hospital. When he said that he’d never talked about it because he didn’t want to make Mom feel like his second choice. He said something I hadn heard before.

Mom is still my hero. She’s done her best; How do you aspire for more?

Leave a Reply

