It’s catching

I have thought for a long time now that emotions, like colds, are catching.

Dad continues on in the hospital. Today he went back from being in the rehab wing to the regular hospital wing. Mom called me early in the day to tell me that they were going to take him for more tests and then go back to the regular wing of the hospital. He cried, she cried, I cried. The distress of the setback went from one to the next like a fall of dominoes. I could no more stop my feelings than a domino could stop falling. I stopped myself from crying by the barest of margins. Middle sister said it best. It’s heartbreaking. A couple that has been together for more than 50 years now looks at being divided by unstoppable and unthinkable mortality. Even if I had no stake in this, losing my much beloved father, the story alone would make me cry.

I’ve always heard that a sorrow shared is half a sorrow, and a joy shared is twice a joy. I’m hoping right now that that is true. Please let me take some of their sorrow and make it less for them.

Leave a Reply

