Cardioversion

I took Mom and Dad to a local hospital yesterday for Mom to have cardioversion.  They shock the heart to try to get it back to normal rythym.  They’ve given her all kinds of drugs to try the same thing, but they haven’t worked and they make her feel like crap.

It wasn’t the hospital they usually go to and Mom wanted me to go along to make sure Dad didn’t get lost or something. 

The procedure itself take about 2 minutes, another 15 minutes were spent getting the IV line in and getting her ready.  So all in all we spent about 10 hours in the hospital for 20 minutes worth of procedure.  The procedure itself worked.  When they were done her heart was beating normally.

Didn’t really get anything to eat while we were there.  We went to the cafeteria once to get Dad a cup of coffee.  There were two things on the menu, ‘I think it’s pizza’ and ‘I don’t know what the hell that is.’    Mercifully, the cafeteria closed at 1 pm.  My intake for the day consisted of half a cup of soda and most of a bag of pretzels.

There was one consolation.  While we were sitting in the recovery room I got my parents to telling stories.  I asked my dad why he had joined the army and it went on from there.  I learned more about their pre-married life than I have in the previous 50 years.  Sometime the best times aren’t where or when you’d expect them to be.

Also, my dad seemed better.  He’s still got language and memory issues.  I’m not discounting his problems at all, but he seemed more connected.  More aware of what was going on around him.  I’ll take what I can get.

Leave a Reply

