Busy weekend

Surprise!  I spent several hours each day this weekend working in the yard.  The more I do, the more I can do, and the more I like the yard.  The front yard has been neglected for some time now, but after working on it for the last few weekends in a row, I’m actually starting to like it out there.

The sprinklers have been off for some time now.  I turned them off when it was raining every third day and since then have been watering with hose or the watering can.  I can either do fake work by walking on the treadmill or using the Wii, but I’d really rather lug a watering can around the yard. 

I get more of a feeling for my neighborhood when I actually go out into it.  I listen to the birds when I’m out there working.

And the construction crew got the brick coping done on the walls.  Woo hoo!  It looks great and they left the place cleaner than when they found it.  Of course, it’s only a one-day job, but it looks really nice.  Had a neighbor compliment it right when I got home.  And bricks will last a heck of a lot longer than wood will.

It occurred to me why so many elderly folk (not me! couldn’t be me!) fall off of ladders.  If you’ve lived in a house long enough for you to get old, your house is getting old, too.  It needs work that can only be done with ladders.  Can you tell that I spent too much time on ladders this weekend?

Leave a Reply

