Ashes, ashes

It seems like I’ve been sweeping up ashes for months.  When I think about it, I have been sweeping up ashes for months. 

The patio had ash everywhere after the fires.  The subsequent rains turned it dust.  With the water situation the way it is I don’t want to hose down the patio, but I’m losing my resolve. 

I know that ash is a component in some fertilizers.  It’s efficacy is being demonstrated in every corner of the yard.  The ash has settled into every crack and crevice in the pavement and all of the weed seeds in the neighborhood are sprouting in it.

The cement has gone from being regular cement gray to being a dark smudgy gray.  At least I’m getting some exercise.  It takes persistence to sweep up ash.

Leave a Reply

