Glow

I think I might glow in the dark.

I know that I’d set off a geiger counter, at least that’s what they told me.

I had a cardiac stress test today.  And it was weird.

I thought I was going to get on a treadmill and they would record the results.  That kind of happened and mostly did not.

I did get on a treadmill.  That’s where the expectations part ended.

I didn’t know that they were going to inject me with radioactive isotopes. . . twice.

Injections that were carried in leaden cylinders.  By people with radiation exposure badges.

While it’s possible (certain, they told me so) that I’d set off a geiger counter for the next day or so, it’s really not me that has to worry.  It’s the people that do 20 or 30 of these tests every day, five days a week that have to worry.  One of the guys wasn’t wearing his badge.  I really wanted him to be wearing his badge.

It’s interesting, this kind of test.  There was a van right outside my doctor’s building.  I didn’t look closely; I actually thought it was a van for copy machines.  I paid more attention on the way out.

I commented to one of the tech guys that it was an amazing amount of equipment for the doc to have.  Turns out that in my area, the docs don’t own the equipment, they rent it and the techs that run it, by the day?  Or maybe the half day.

The scanner I sat in/on was in my doctor’s office.  Not just the building, but behind her desk, with her family photos around, and her purse on the floor.

Now I realise that she’s probably doing this for money.  She’s giving up her privacy so she can make money, keep her practice.  It really doesn’t inconvenience me.  It inconveniences her.

Everyone is going to have to give up something in this economy.  Doctors are going to be a luxury very soon.  I’m glad to have what I have now.

Who knows what the future will bring?  We have a surplus of humans.  I keep hearing the people of faith saying that ‘God will provide.’  I don’t believe in God.  I believe that our world will provide an answer.  I just don’t think we’ll like it much. 

Our planet has been a battery for aeons, basking in the light of the sun, charging, charging the batteries of Earth.  For the last 75 years we’ve had the heater, the hair dryer and the toaster oven on all at the same time.  The circuit will break; the battery will run dry; the oil will run out. 

We’ve outrun our resources.  How do we ignore that?  Religion is a huge problem with that.  Experts at ignoring facts.

Wake up people!  We’re using more energy than we have.  I can’t do the math, but I’m sure someone can.  The Earth does not create energy.  The sun does.  How much of the suns energy falls on the earth? 

If we use more than that we’re doomed.  And that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  If we’re too stupid to face reality we may be too stupid to survive.

Leave a Reply

