Another gardening afternoon

After giving it much thought, I’ve decided to cut the boston ivy down to the ground.

I love it.  It’s covered the white walls and made the garden a cool sanctuary.  In the fall the leaves often turn red and the colors are beautiful.

But’s just run wild.  I have no illusions that cutting it down to the ground will kill it.  But it will give me another chance to let it grow without letting it become a jungle.  By rights I should have spent most of the day out there in my effort to tame it, but I would have paid for that in being sore for days.  I’ll sneak up on my garden chores a little at a time.   By next month I should have enough daylight left at the end of the day I should be able to spend a little time at the end of every day Bringing things to order.

As they’re painting the houses this is a great time for this.  It’s really much easier to tear it out wholesale than it is to try to cut it back selectively.  Once they’ve painted the walls, I’m going to see if we can replace the top of the fence with brick.  It won’t be cheap to put in, but it’ll last forever.  Termites do not like brick.  Here in the non-freezing Orange County termites have a field day.  The wood top to the fence doesn’t work in the long run.

Leave a Reply

