Christmas Projects

Went to my folks house this weekend to help Mom with her Christmas errands.

Went to the mall on the way over to get something she wanted for one of my sisters.  Ye gods and little fishes, stay the heck away from the mall at Christmastime. 

Wasn’t as bad as I was afraid it might be.  I took the list given me and gave it to the girl at the makeup counter.  She was thankful that it was easy for her, which made it pleasant for me.  I hate the mall under the best of circumstances, and wear very little makeup under the worst.  I didn’t want to tell that poor child that she and her products were irrelevant to me.  And she didn’t make me.  She just said ‘Thanks for your purchase,’ and we both went on with our days.

At the next step I went to a pet store to buy goldfish for my Dad.  Racoons ate all but three out of his backyard pond.  If you build it, they will come. 

He’s had a water garden in the backyard since I was a kid.  You wouldn’t have called it that, maybe. On the smallest scale it was a couple of gallons of water.  But it gave me fuel for my first microscope.   I still remember watching all the microlife through that not-so-hot lense.

He’s been buying fish for a while now.  He spent quite a bit on fish initially.  But, if you build it, they will come.  Racoons being among the things that will come, and eat you fish.  Don’t buy koi unless your pond is deep enough to drown a racoon.  So now I buy him cheap goldfish once in a while. 

I picked up the fish on the way to my parents.  When I went out to the garage to tell him I’d brought them, and he wouldn’t open the door.  He’s working on a Christmas project.  Mom knows what it is. I’d really like to know what it is.  But he wouldn’t open the damn garage door.

Leave a Reply

