Odd Encounters

It has been the afternoon of odd encounters.

Walking to lunch the police chief drove by and honked and waved.  I know the police chief.  That still sounds strange to me.

Then, while I was standing in line to order lunch, a lady I’d never seen before ran her fingers through my hair and said she liked my haircut.  For a split second I thought about getting mad; I’m not all that wild about being touched by strangers.  But it just didn’t seem worth the effort.

As I was walking back from lunch, an older guy with a bicycle and without teeth was complimenting every woman that walked by.  I apparently have a cute smile.

None of these things would happen if I ate lunch at my desk.  It was an interesting lunch hour.

One thought on “Odd Encounters

Leave a Reply

