In charge of the jello

Oh boy!  My sister decided she wanted me to bring jello to Thanksgiving Dinner.  I told that was fine, as long as she didn’t make me eat it.   “I’m gonna make you!” was her response.  I told her that was fine, it was her floor.

My sisters and I have been emailing back and forth about Thanksgiving for several days.  I caught some flack about not responding to the invitation.   I shot back that I’d missed one Thanksgiving dinner in 50 years.  And as I was in intensive care at the time, I had a pretty good excuse.  Did anyone really think I wasn’t going to be there?

That shut that conversation down.  It also dragged my mind back to that time and put being at Thanksgiving dinner at the top my things to be thankful for list.  I remember my grandmother bringing me some of the dinner, and feeling so bad because I just didn’t have the energy to eat it.  Those were some of the first in a very long line of crappy days that I wasn’t sure I was ever going to get through.

Dear Universe,

I’m thankful I’m here.  I’m thankful I have a family to have dinner with and dinner to have.  Hope you have something to be thankful for, too.

Leave a Reply

