A Long Week

My boss was out of the office last week and it was a council meeting week.  Things were a little stressful.  Getting the meetings that need to happen scheduled was a nightmare.  When one department head needs to meet with all of the council and they won’t meet together, you have problems.  Multiply that by 3 different department heads and 5 council members and your juggling skills had better be up to par.  Add that to the fact that there are some things that my boss does that I just don’t know about.  I had my hands full and then some.

A full week of taking care of everything by myself stressed me out.  I went ballistic on a couple of AT&T salesmen that had cornered my husband over the weekend.  Told them go away, get out and not come back.  Which they did.  I know even door-to-door salesmen have to eat, but I don’t have to feed them.  We’d actually been hiding from them for days, but they managed to catch my husband and he will buy stuff from those guys.  I tell them I don’t want any from behind the closed gate and go back in the house.

I was totally ashamed of myself for going off on the guys, but they pissed me off.  I wasn’t that happy that my husband was out there switching our phone service either.  The next day I was going through the cupboard and found this weird bottle of ‘apple secret’ cleaner.  I held it up and asked it where it came from.  Door-to-door salesman.  Sheesh.

The whole week totally made me think about whether or not I want to move forward in this job.  Most days are OK, but council days are just hell on wheels.  Having a bunch of people that can’t or won’t use their email or even answer their phones adds an extra bit of ick to your day.  I’m think a data entry job.  That’s looking better and better every day.

Leave a Reply

