New bug

I have a new bug in the backyard that I haven’t managed to get a picture of yet.  A large iridescent black wasp.  It looks black at first sight, then shines blue when the light is right.  It’s about 1 1/4 inch in size and has been hanging around the bee stump.  Actually going into the holes in the stump.  I’ve found a couple of bee larvae on the ground.  I don’t know if it’s using them for a food source or just usurping their homes.  Now if only I can get a shot of him, or more likely, her.

Leave a Reply

