Up the side of my head, please

Someone please knock me up the side of my head.

Why in heck have I not realized until recently that my Mom has planned family vacations so that we have a family?  I guess I’ve kind of been thinking along these lines for years, but not in these terms. 

Family has always been important to my Mom.  She’s made that clear for as long as I can remember.  Holidays, birthdays, vacations.  All demonstrated that family was important.  I’ve known it, subconsciously, always.  Why the heck did it take me so long to know it out loud?

Spouses are great.  A good one is the best.  If you’ve had a bad one, you know that.  But really, if you’re honest, you need more than just one other person to make a life.  Moms, Dads, sons, daughters, sisters, brothers, aunts, uncles, cousins, and, of course, friends.  A husband and wife make two pieces of a picture.  But the picture isn’t complete without more than that. 

I don’t really think that Mom was doing it consciously, she just wanted us to be together.  A family.  We had holiday dinner with my Dad’s family.  There were car trips to MIchigan to spend time with my Mom’s family.  Always family.

Someone, please, whack me up the side of my head.  Why did I not appreciate this until now?

Leave a Reply

