Hypermiling

I’re read a lot on line about hypermiling.  The way I understand it, you use the inertia you build up in your car as much as possible.  Use the gas pedal and brakes and little as possible. 

Doing this on Southern California freeways is difficult.  You need to leave plenty of space between you and the car ahead of you so you don’t use your brakes so much to slow down.  That’s darn near impossible here.    Nearly any space big enough for a car has a car in it, or will have in seconds.

But I’m trying.  A lot of it just seems to be thinking ahead.  If there’s a red light in front of you, take your foot off the gas and coast up to it.  Less gas getting there, less time and gas sitting at the light and a chance it’ll turn green before you get there.  I don’t follow trucks closely enough to use their draft.  I like breathing.

There are two problems with the whole thing.  One, I have to pay attention.  I can’t just drive around on autopilot.  Two, I’ll never know how much gas, if any, I’m saving.  I started doing it without ever checking how much mileage I get in the first place.

2 thoughts on “Hypermiling

  1. I have just started trying hypermiling too. I did think to check my mileage with my first baseline fuel up (had to postpone starting by about 2 weeks–2 fuel ups–to do so). I was getting about the (revised) EPA mileage for my 1999 Kia Sephia without trying any techniques. I have going for me that I am in a much smaller city and do virtually no “freeway” driving as I dealt with in So Cal when I lived there. I can’t imagine trying some of the techniques under such conditions!

    I haven’t had my first “result” fuel up yet, so am excited to see how it goes!

    (I do find I have a tendency to revert back to “autopilot” on occasion. But hope that will become less and less frequent….it’s probably not very safe to get somewhere without actually paying attention or knowing how you got there!)

  2. Hi – I think it’s great that you are practicing working with hypermiling techniques to improve your gas mileage. But are those the only techniques you are using?

    On drafting – I hear you, and I agree. I don’t think drafting is every worth the risk. Even at a “safe” distance. What if someone gets used to the habit and pushes it a bit to far?

    In any case, there are a lot of safe hypermiling techniques that are very easy to put into effect.

Leave a Reply

