Travel

My Mom decided that she needed to go to my cousin’s graduation from nursing school.  In Michigan.  She also decided, for reasons I don’t understand, that they were going to drive.  Between gas, hotel rooms, and food, it’s actually cheaper to fly.

I wasn’t keen on the idea of my 70-plus parents in not the best health driving across country in the first place.  But now there’s snow.  Going by his traffic record, no tickets or accidents, my Dad is a good driver.  But he’s a native Californian, no experience with driving in snow or freezing conditions.

I asked them to call me every night to let me know they’d made it safely through the day.  That didn’t work out so well.  Mom called the first night and then nothing for two days.  Dad finally called last night to say they were just outside Detroit, but snow was expected.  Oh joy.  Role reversal is a pain in the posterior.

At the opposite end of the spectrum, temps in our area reached into the 100’s this weekend.  My poor nasturtians are crispy critters again.  The leaves on the peas have died up to the last six inches of stem.  Time to take them out and put in the tomato plants I bought at the farmer’s market.

Leave a Reply

