Blintz lesson

Went to my parents’ Sunday.  All the family was invited to breakfast.  Blintzes!  Yay!

I’d asked my Dad not too long ago to teach me how to make crepes.  Assembling the insides I could probably manage, but I’d never made crepes before and they sounded intimidating.

We got there and started in right away.  I mixed up the batter:

2 1/2 cups pancake mix (sorry to the from-scratch purists)

4 cups milk (added 2 cups at at time for eas of mixing

1/4 cup melted butter

Pour a 4 inch circle of batter in a small, medium-hot frying pan and swirl to cover the bottom of the pan.  Wait until the edges brown up just a bit, about 15 seconds, ease a spatula under it and flip.  Flipping is the tricky part.

I did quite a few of them, then the rest of the family started to arrive and a few of them got rather well done, although you couldn’t say any of them were burned.  Dad, who’d been hovering, took over and let me get in on all of the conversations going around.

Dad can do this with 2 frying pans going; I’ve seen him.  I probably couldn’t keep up with him, but I’m thinking of ways I could try.

One thought on “Blintz lesson

Leave a Reply

