Bee Swarm




Bee Swarm

Originally uploaded by lorinda3l2000.

I want to cry. I think I’m going to feel bad about these bees for a very long time. They landed between our house and our neighbor’s house. And I couldn’t get them to leave. Maybe I should have tried harder. But there’s no place for them here.

I called several places that claimed “bee removal.” ‘We’ll come and take the bees’ they said.

The one guy that was honest said, “There’s no place for a wild swarm here in Southern California. Other people say that they’ll take them, but they just kill them, as we do.” He told me that there wasn’t enough agriculture left in So Cal to need the wild swarms. They had to be dealth with as pests.

As little as I like what he said, I appreciate the fact that he gave me truth instead of a convenient, and saleable lie.

He was also quite vocal about how the farming industry is killing the bees they rely on. Trucking the hives from place to place. Feeding them genetically modified crops.

I see it as trying to live on just one kind of food. Corn is fine, as long as it isn’t the only thing you eat. But all of a sudden, it is. Corn is in everything we eat. And most of the time we don’t even know how it got there.

Einstein was right. The bees are dying, and so will we.

I’m going to feel bad about having to kill those bees for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

