Advice to my sister on Thanksgiving

You are having Thanksgiving dinner at your house for the first time.  It’s not like you don’t cook or really need this advice, but I’m your sister and I’m nosey and bossy and I did for a few years and really did learn something from doing it.

First, keep it simple.  The times I screwed up the worst were the times I tried to get fancy.  As long as you have turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy and cranberry sauce you’re fine.

 On brining the turkey.  I did that one year, do you remember?  I don’t either.  An extra step for no appreciable benefit.

Putting the stuffing in cheesecloth for easy removal from the turkey:  If you want to see something yucky, stuffing cooked in cheesecloth in a turkey would be it.  Spoons work wonderfully well.

That’s it!

Leave a Reply

