Someone ate my tomatoes

They’re volunteer tomatoes.  Most of mine are, at this point.  I don’t plant them, but they come up year after year.  This year’s have been exceptionally sweet.  I had one plant with a couple dozen tomatoes on it and I was hoping to make salsa with them.  On Father’s day I went outside for something and noticed that they were all gone.  I thought maybe the Spouse had a snack, but when I checked with him, he hadn’t touched them.

We have had raccoons in the yard before, and I’m guessing that’s who ate them.  But I also got fish for my freshly cleaned water pots and they didn’t disturb those at all.  The fish have been the main target in the past, and the raccoons made quite a mess.  This time no muss, no fuss, just a naked tomato plant.

And, just for fun, my easy recipe for mango salsa:

  • 2 1/2 cups cherry tomatoes
  • 1 onion roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup cubed mango (I use frozen)
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Mexican seasoning (chili powder and cumin if you don’t have that)
  • 1 teaspoon green Tabasco (more if you like it spicy)
  • Blend or process in food processor to desired texture

I found a recipe once that was the fresh version of this, and no doubt it would be great.  But I have all this stuff around the house and it wouldn’t get made very often if I had to chop jalapeños by hand.  You can vary the ingredients to taste.  If you use a lot of the green tabasco, you might need to add more sugar to balance out the vinegar.  Makes a great salad dressing, too.

One thought on “Someone ate my tomatoes

Leave a Reply

